The Recipients of the 33rd PRAEMIUM IMPERIALE Announced


On Thursday, September 15, the names of the new Praemium Imperiale Laureates were announced in Berlin, Rome, London, Paris, New York and Tokyo. The recipients are as follows:

▪Painting:     Giulio Paolini (Italy)
▪Sculpture:    Ai Weiwei (China)
▪Architecture:  Kazuyo Sejima + Ryue Nishizawa / SANAA (Japan)
▪Music:            Krystian Zimerman (Poland/Switzerland)
▪Theatre/Film: Wim Wenders (Germany)

Giulio Paolini © archivio Paola Ghirotti
Ai Weiwei Photo: Shu Tomioka
Krystian Zimerman


Kazuyo Sejima Ryue Nishizawa
Wim Wenders Photo: Beata Siewicz











The artists are recognized and awarded for their achievements, for the impact they have had internationally on the arts, and for their role in enriching the global community. Each laureate receives an honorarium of 15 million yen and a testimonial letter. An awards ceremony by the Japan Art Association will be held in Tokyo on October 19, 2022.

Also, the Grant for Young Artists was announced at a press conference in Berlin, presided over by International Advisor, Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, and followed by the presentation of the grant. The 2022 recipient of the Grant is the Kronberg Academy Foundation (Germany).

Seiji Okamoto and other students rehearsing with Gidon Kremer
In the rehearsal room of Civic Center Stadthalle Kronberg, 2022
Kronberg Academy © Patricia Truchsess von Wetzhausen








For detailed information regarding the laureates, and related photos, please contact:

The Japan Art Association
1-2 Ueno-park, Taito-ku, Tokyo
TEL: 03-5832-6464 FAX: 03-5832-6465
■Official Website